May’s Slippers

This is another one of those projects that I’ve been wanting to try for a long time but was just intimidated by. Once many years ago I tried to knit a pair of socks. I made one and a half and I’ve always been a little haunted by that failure.

I started by following this pattern from red heart. Honestly though the beginning confused me and I don’t actually own stitch markers (!) so once I figured out how to do the heel I started over again just making it up as I went.DSCN2430

I should have been taking notes as I went along because when I finished the first slipper I had no idea what I had done and had to go back and carefully count every stitch, oops. Also I ran out of my Red Heart With Love yarn in mango and had to use white to finish the second one…I guess that’s what happens when you don’t start with a new skein?DSCN2433

Anyway my favorite part of this project by far was when I put on the first slipper and suddenly out of the blue I remembered have a pair of green slippers with red pompoms when I was really little. Someone, probably my grandmother, had crocheted them for me and I loved them. But I had forgotten about them until I put on the one I made. I love that I have that memory back now.

2 thoughts on “May’s Slippers

Leave a Reply

